Hyundai Motors Reveals Trio of Cars for Nürburgring 24 Hours TCR Class

Hyundai is gearing up for its biggest presence yet at the Nürburgring Nordschleife as it prepares to compete in this year’s Nürburgring 24 Hours from May 30 to June 2. With three Hyundai ELANTRA N TCR cars poised for action, the team is eyeing a fourth consecutive class victory.

The driver lineups for these cars are truly global, featuring defending class champions and seasoned Hyundai Motorsport customer drivers from some of the most competitive TCR series worldwide. Leading the charge will be Mikel Azcona, Marc Basseng, and Manuel Lauck aboard the #830 car. This trio has already secured TCR class victories in 2022 and 2023, with Basseng and Lauck also claiming victory in the 2021 Nürburgring 24 Hours during the ELANTRA N TCR’s debut at the renowned endurance race.

Bryan Herta Autosport, supported by Hyundai Motor America, impressed in their Nürburgring 24 Hours debut in 2023, clinching a third consecutive Hyundai Motorsport Class 1-2 finish. For 2024, Mason Filippi and Harry Gottsacker return to the Nordschleife alongside newcomer Mark Wilkins. Additionally, 19-year-old Bryson Morris joins the team for the Qualifiers weekend, marking his debut with a TCR car.

A new entry for 2024 is the #832 car, featuring four stars from the TCR China series: Hongwei Cao, Rainey He, Andy Yan, and Zhang Zhen Dong. Cao, the 2023 national series champion, will be joined by his Hyundai N squad teammates He and Yan. Completing the lineup is Dong, who impressed in the TCR China series last year, aiding the ELANTRA N TCR in securing the Car TCR Model of the Year honors.

The team and drivers showcased their prowess at the N24 Qualifiers, securing a perfect 1-2-3 finish in class in Sunday’s four-hour race. Despite challenges such as punctures, the Hyundai teams demonstrated resilience and speed, setting the stage for a thrilling showdown at the Nürburgring 24 Hours.

Hyundai’s connection with the Nürburgring runs deep, with its N performance division drawing inspiration from the legendary German circuit. Hyundai Motorsport has forged a successful link with the Nürburgring 24 Hours, with ELANTRA N TCR cars clinching class victories for the past three years.

The trio of ELANTRA N TCR teams aims to continue this legacy in the 2024 race, although they recognize the immense challenge posed by the Nürburgring 24 Hours. Known for its demanding circuit, unpredictable weather, and grueling night driving, the event remains one of the toughest in motorsport.

In addition to the TCR teams, Hyundai will field the Hyundai Driving Experience i30 Fastback N in the VT2 Front-Wheel-Drive class. Led by experienced drivers Marcus Willhardt, Michael Bohrer, journalist-racer Jens Dralle, and Korean Junior driver Gyumin Kim, the team is poised to build on its success from previous years and showcase Hyundai’s performance prowess on the iconic Nürburgring circuit.

Source Link:

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below and subscribe to our newsletter